Nancy Laing

Originally from Vancouver, BC, Nancy has an undergraduate degree from UBC, a Certificate in Health Services Administration from the University of Saskatchewan, and a Post-Graduate Diploma in Health Services Administration from the U of A. She has a commitment to lifelong learning and has completed the Alberta Economic Development Training Program; Chartered Institute of Housing, Canada – Founders Program resulting in Charter Member status; and most recently completed the U of A’s Governance Program for Small and Medium Sized Enterprises.

Moving to Alberta in 1982, Nancy worked as a Dietitian in the public and private Health Care industry for six years before taking the Associate Director position with Greater Edmonton Foundation to provide subsidized housing for seniors in Edmonton. Nancy has worked as the Executive Director of Leduc Regional Housing Foundation (LRHF) since September 1991, providing non-market housing in the Leduc Region, for seniors, individuals and families of modest means. LRHF is a Housing Management Body created under the Alberta Housing Act with a Board of Directors consisting of elected officials from the Leduc Region’s 7 municipalities. Nancy supported the work of the previous Capital Region Board’s Housing Committee from 2008 – 2017, creating recognition of Housing Management Bodies as important partners for the effective planning and delivery of non-market housing within the Capital Region.

Nancy was a founding member of the Alberta Public Housing Administrators’ Association (APHAA) (1993) and was on their executive for 18 years; a founding member of the Alberta Safety Council for Seniors Housing (1993); and in partnership with ten other housing agencies, Nancy was involved in the creation the Alberta Network of Public Housing Agencies (ANPHA) (2011) to provide a unified voice for the non-profit, affordable housing sector.

Nancy was a member of the Board of Directors of the Leduc & District Victim Services Association for 5 years, finishing as Past President; and has been on the Board of the Leduc-Nisku Economic Development Association since June 2012, holding executive positions of Secretary-Treasurer and Vice-Chair.